Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

tall 100rs or skymax 180

hi, does anyone have any experience an opinions of either a skymax 180 or the tal 100rs for planetary imaging.

I know the skymax has the longer cool down time, and larger appiture, but have heard the tal takes some beating.

Which would produce the sharpest and best contrast image?

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Agree with Nightfisher the Mak with the longer focal length should produce better imaging results on the planets.

Though the ota costs over 2.5 times the price of the Tal 100 RS ota.

A similar priced Mak to the Tal 100 ota would be the SW 127mm Mak,but I've had no experience witth them.

Jon

Aha - well I have both and so does someone else I know who is elling a 180 Pro right now :)

The 180 will in theory be a planet killer - in practice mine has never been used in over a year. Why is that ?

1/ Cool down time - cool down time on the Mak is heading for 4 hours, cool down time on the TAL is typically under 10 minutes. UK weather - we can have summer come and go in four hours :o

2/ Weight - Both about the same but for me the TAL is easier to handle and store than the 180. I guess that depends on the shape and size of you car and storage space at home.

3/ Mount up - The TAL can run on a lighter mount than the 180 which also cuts the weight down for transport and cuts the cost down when you have to buy.

4/ Accessories - the TAL wins this one hands down, better quality diagonal (certainly than the one that came with my 180) and better quality eyepieces out the box.

5/ Usability - the TAL needs not much at all. The 180 on the other hand is the worlds largest dew magnet - budget for dewshield and heaters which adds to the weight and bulk and slows set-up down.

6/ Image shift - cant say for the 180 as I have yet to get to use it. Some people say its terrible. The TAL has a nice snap to focus.