Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Bootstrapping....

OK, here's the deal.

I am a total noob at this malarkay, and I have read a hundred tutorials on how to process images. I think I have improved over the last couple of months, but one of the biggest issues that I have is that I feel like I am "bootstrapping"...ie, trying to pull myself into the air by my own bootstraps. :)

I feel like i don't really have a solid foundation to start from, by that, I am not sure if my initial captures are good enough (garbage in, garbage out), what method I should use in DSS/PS/Registax etc in order to post-process the images. Finally, I often don't know what "good" looks like (ie colour balance, saturation etc), which comes from experience.

Looking at things like the PS workflow thread further adds to the confusion, as everyone seems to have a different way of doing things.

I think I would love to spend some time with someone more experienced (oooeeer missus:eek:) and see how they would process my images. Maybe they would throw away the base material (garbage in, garbage out again!). If I could see the steps, step-by-step, then I would have a little more knowledge on which of the million different techniques to apply!

Soooooo.... Is anyone interested in helping an eejit like me with some of my source material? It could make a decent tutorial for others too?

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I do sympathise with you.

There is no one correct way to process images - different techniques work for different people, there are choices in what software to use for processing, and as every image is different, each image demands different techniques. I think what you need to do is adopt one of the more straight forward workflows, practise, and experiment. See what works best for you, read advice on here and try out different methods.