Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Should beginners fear an Equatorial mount?

Blackheart

Hi all

I've owned a number of scopes in my time but I've never used a German equatorial mount. I relish the idea of learning how to use one, but I'm considering one for our new club and I'm wondering if they might be a bit daunting or difficult to operate for a beginner.

Does anyone have any thoughts, one way or the other...

Cheers

BH

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi BH

My first scope was on a CG-4 GEM and I upgraded this to a Vixen GP GEM soon after purchase. This set up was really nice and as a complete novice I rapidly picked up how to use it successfully for visual applications and the odd lunar point and press photo.

On this basis, I would not say it's a very difficult process to learn how to use a GEM.

BUT since I got my first dobsonian scope, I have really disliked using the GEM and find it awkward and much less comfortable/intuitive; it's also a lot less stable than the dob mount for larger/heavier OTAs (unless I suspect you buy a very expensive/heavy version).

Due to this preference for an alt/az format, I pointed the GEM mount to 90 degrees (or as near as I could get) so it effectively became an alt/az mount. Soon after this I realised that I should sell the refractor and mount and have now done so. I now have two dobs (see signature) and enjoy observing much more.

hope this helps (in a way) :D

...BUT since I got my first dobsonian scope, I have really disliked using the GEM and find it awkward and much less comfortable/intuitive; it's also a lot less stable than the dob mount for larger/heavier OTAs (unless I suspect you buy a very expensive/heavy version)...

My experience is similar to Shanes - I have a GEM (a CG5) but I hardly use it.

If you want to image though a GEM is the way to go - they are not particularly complex, just rather awkward.