Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie from Upminster

rll1288

I finally bit the bullet and got mysef a telescope (been thinking about it for years). Its a Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ, which was all the budget could allow for at this moment in time.

I hope to get a set of Revelation Astro eyepieces and then can really get to see something. Well as best as I can being 18 miles from London and Oak trees all around.

I am an IT consultant and want to link the telescope up to a digital eyepiece and wirelessly send images to laptop in doors. Has anyone done this before? I sure they have and any input would be welcome.

Hi R11 and welcome to the group ;)

I've not done that yet but I have hooked up via usb cable. So I reckon some kind of dongle receiver at the laptop end and a transmitter at the other to effect a wireless usb link would do the job.

At a trade stand at Kelling last autumn a chap was demo'ing wireless scope control and live picture transmission to a screen. It was good enough to see the Sombrero in quite some detail (in b/w). Think it was either a Minitron or Watec camera or such like. So it's definitely possible.

Hello and welcome from me too. As for the remote viewing, although you'd need a sensitive CCD for fainter stuff, you should be able to get good results from the moon and, say, Jupiter, with a more basic setup.

Hello no name! If you are in Upminster go along to a Havering Astronomical Society meeting, 3rd Wednesday, Cranham Community Centre and speak to Martin. He has done this and demonstrated it to the club several years ago. I believe he was using a Mintron.

Dennis

Wow thanks for all the welcoming messages. I have been playing around with wireless technology for a while (sending video / internet etc.) and think the USB transmitters are coming of age. Good point about getting the right CCD imager as it would be good to capture and show the wife n kids.

Looking to improve the eyepieces and wondered about any suggestions?