Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Is this really legal?

Gy Stargazer

Just been browsing on ebay and i came along this:-

Pro Astronomy Software star maps sky charts planetarium on eBay (end time 17-Jul-10 22:58:21 BST)

A few things seem strange.

The logo for the sale is that of Stellarium.

The images from the program are that of Stellarium.

This is a FREE program.

Is it legal to be sold on ebay?

Surely there has got to be some issues with this.

A FREE Astronomy program made by Astronomers for Astronomers.

Being sold by someone else.

There is no recognition for the actual makers of the program.

Scot

I think he is acknowledging that it is a freely available programme, and he is only claiming the rights to the bits he has added.

That's how I read it. Let's see what others say about it though.

Ron.

I'm not a lawyer, and don't know the specifics, but it's my understanding that whilst you are not allowed to make any money from GPL licensed products, you are allowed to charge reasonable costs for redistribution on media. So if I've understood it correctly, this isn't actually in breach of the license. Would I go buy it... that's another question entirely...

GPL I believe also means that the original license must be included with the software, but you can't find that out without purchasing it in the first place...

The GNU General Public License - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation (FSF)

I'm happy to be corrected by those more knowledgeable

Distribution under the GPL is encouraged, as long as the software remains (although there does appear to be provision for adding your own alterations to it too) and the license remains intact. In fact it looks to me, as if it's actively encouraged.

I think the question is, is £3 reasonable for distribution of media etc... that's gonna be hard to prove one way or the other...

From the GPL FAQ's

Does the GPL allow me to charge a fee for downloading the program from my site?