Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie questions

Layor

Hi,

I live in Mid Wales and am lucky enough to live in a part of the country where the night sky is reasonably free of light polution.

I have a pair of Skymaster 15x70 binoculars that I've recently purchased and a Tasco 76mm x 700mm reflector telescope that was bought for me as a birthday present a few years ago. It's not the best of 'scopes but it has served to get me started and I'm now thinking of buying a Maksutov Cassegrain type telescope.

Can anyone advise of the best make and supplier to get one from or would this sort of question be best posted on a different part of the forum?

Cheers, Layor.

Hi and welcome to SGL, Skywatcher, Celestron and Meade do some good Maks / SCTs be worth having a google and read reviews on them. I have a Meade ETX125 and the Optics are A1, have also read very good reviews of the Skymax 127.

Steve

Hi Layor, welcome to the forum.

Mid Wales can be very good for observing. You have chosen to maybe go for a Maksutov-Cassegrain yeah? Can I ask why?

If I were starting off then I may be more inclined to choose either a refractor or Newtonian design. I mean, by all means go for a Maksutov or Schmidt if that is exactly what you are after but I would state that a Newtonian gives the best all round performance. Mak's and Schmidts don't give exceptionally bright views and the field of view can be quite 'small' with some objects. Saying that though they are more compact and less hassle to maintain than a Newtonian. Just a thought thats all!

Celestron make good Schmidts and their small 4inch Mak I had was easy to use and performed well especially with planetary and lunar imaging.

Skywatcher stuff is generally good, the refractors are pretty neat, not used their Maks but the Schmidts seem on par with Celestrons.

Maybe avoid TAL scopes, they are builts sturdily but they can be a pain to use (in my experience).

Haven't used any Meade equipment so can't say.