Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

first telescope help needed asap

ok been to look at my first telescope today at a local shop and went to look at this one.

Visionary astroscope 1400mm/150mm

Price: £299.99

Visionary astroscope 1400mm/150mm complete with

Tripod and equatorial mount

side spotter scope

2 plossl eyepieces 6.5mm,25mm (56x,112x,215x and 430x magnification with included eyepieces)

complete instructions

i was offered it with a 2x barlow lense for £325

first of all how does the scope sqaure up is it a good deal?

secondly compared to the following 2 which i have looked at online

Skywatcher Explorer 150PL EQ3-2

Skywatcher Explorer 130P

opinions please as i am so confused which telescope will give me the best views and also based on the first one having the figure of 1400 (which if i am right i devide the eyepiece strengh by it i get the magnification) which is the best scope?

thanks sorry for the daft questions but i am new to all this and need to get it right first time spending this money

Looks like a rebranded Chinese jobby similar to a Seben. It's a short tube Newtonian with a built in lens to increase the focal length to 1400mm. Bad news I'm afraid.

The Explorer 150P is a far better scope in every way. It's less money too.

The 150PL has a longer focal length, but will be more unstable on an EQ-3 type mount than a 150P.

For that price you have good reputation brands available. I would recommend a safe choice, you should buy from one of this brands Skywatcher, Celestron, Meade, Orion US or Orion Optics (UK).

All those will guarantee quality.

Regarding suppliers our forum sponsor (link at the top) works very well but you can check the suppliers review section for other options.

I would recommend this scope instead of the PL, cause it comes with the 2" focuser:

Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 150P EQ3-2