Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help needed with how to use my newtonian telescope to view Mars

Hi

I am new to all this so please bear with me J

I have a Celestron Firstscope 114eq Newtonian telescope which, according to the bumph, should enable me to see Mars and its features quite clearly. However, as you may have guessed, this does not appear to be the case when in my inexperienced hands.

I am able to find Mars in my eyepiece (H25) – although this took some time – but the image I get when focussed is very small, in fact it is probably no bigger than it is to the naked eye. This is also the case when I use the H12 eyepiece. The only time the image appears to get any larger is when it is out of focus and is obscured by the shadow of the secondary mirror. Last night I struggled to use the H6 eyepiece with much success other than getting really good detail of the moon.

I’ve also tried to use the 3x Barlow that was supplied with the telescope with the same results.

Is there any advice anyone would like to share with me?

As I implied, I am able to view the moon with fantastic results but am somewhat disappointed with anything beyond/smaller.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated with good karma being passed your way in exchange.

Even in a much bigger 'scope, Mars is a hard one to visually observe. I was looking at it at 396x in my 9.25" 'scope last night and it was still essentially a featureless small disc (you really need to concentrate to see the detail)...

Your scope will give you great views of lots of things - the rings of Saturn, Jupiters Moons (and cloudbelts), the Moon, the M13 cluster, The Pleiades, M42 in Orion and the double cluster in Perseus just for starters.

Bear in mind apart from the viewing 'musts' a lot of astronomy is the search for small fuzzies. Its not the actuality of the view that astounds you its the fact you can see it at all :)