NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from a newbie looking to buy first telescope

Good evening all.

I am a newbie to this wonderful forum and have been browsing here for a while.

I am looking to select and purchase my first telescope and would appreciate some help with this please.

Jessops are currently advertising 2 scopes; the first is a Jessops 800 x 80 reflector scope @ £49 and the second scope is a Jessops 1100 x 102mm reflector at £79 that looks a bit of a beast.

Does anyone know anything about these scopes please and if so would either of them be any good?

I live in Hereford close to the welsh border and want to view the heavens in as much detail as possible within an initial budget of £150 possibly stretching to £200. My gazing currently is done in the back garden with a small pair of 12 x 32 binoculars which can be a bit taxing on the neck muscles. I have located the pleiades, Orion but have thus far failed to find M31.

As well as your thoughts regarding the Jessops scopes; any suggestions regarding a good telescope to suit my needs as an ambitious beginner would be gratefully received.

Many thanks

Paul

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Paul and welcome to SGL.

The smaller telescope looks similar to many small reflectors sold on ebay and the larger one reminds me of a telescope I once saw on QVC, that too had a very strange counterbalanced alt/az mount. I can't really comment on the preformance of either except to say that the claims of magnification are a bit ambitious (400x). With your £150-£200 budjet something like a Skywatcher Skyliner 150P Dobsonian is a possibility.

Peter

Hi Paul,

I agree with Peter - you would notbe happy with the Jessops scopes I'm afraid despite their low prices. Peters suggested scope is also good and there are other Skywatcher scopes which might suit, such as this one:

Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 130M