Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

6" Newt - Dob or EQ3?

Hi Everyone, I've read a lot of similar topics here, but there's nothing quite like personal advice, and so I hope you won't mind the repetition!

I'm a beginner, though I've been interested in astronomy for many years and have often thought of buying a 'scope. Now I think perhaps I should just bite the bullet and do it!

I'm not fantastically well-off, but I don't want to buy something only to find it unrewarding or frustrating and give up or upgrade. I know that a 6" Dob is the classic beginner scope, and the skywatcher one is very good value at FLO at 175 pounds. In the same ballpark is the 150pl on the EQ3 mount for 225. I know that the dob. mount will be fine, but I am unsure about the ergonomics of, say, looking at Jupiter, which is quite low in the sky, without having to contort myself. I wonder therefore if the EQ mount would be better, but I am also concerned that the EQ3 is a bit too flimsy for a tube of this weight and length.

Advice would be appreciated. My feeling was that I should get the dob, and then if I am interested in, say, astrophotography at a later date I could try and find an EQ6 or something. But, I would then have to factor in the cost of tube rings and such, and wonder if getting the whole kit with the EQ3 might make upgrades easier/cheaper.

I'd appreciate any advice. I'm pretty open to ideas and have considered a number of 'scopes, from the little heritage 76 and 130P, through the alt-az gotos and up to the 200p EQ5. I think really the latter is a bit over my budget, though I could stretch if it was felt that it would be a better 'investment'.

Where will I be observing? A village in south-Suffolk. Light pollution isn't too bad, but it's not a dark-site either.

Thanks so much for reading my long message.

Jacob.

You are well informed about the difference between EQ and Dob so I don't think I can add nothing to that.