Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Neximage ?

does it pick up on nebula and galaxies ?

It's not intended for deep sky objects - it can't do long exposures. The Neximage is basically a re-packaged Philips Toucam Pro. I feel it's rather pricey although it will do a decent job on planetary and lunar.

John

does it pick up on nebula and galaxies ?

I am waiting for mine to arrive but when it does I'm sending it straight off for a B&W Sensor and long exposure mod. As far as I'm aware this will make the Neximage more suitable for DSO imaging but I'm new to this so could be wrong.

Have a look HERE

Regards

Hello, as others have stated the Neximage is intended only for lunar/planetary. Considering it's price point, it is damn good value particularly as the Toucam is no longer available new. The Neximage does however use the same CCD imaging chip.

To get some idea of what the Neximage can do, you will find plenty of images on this forum by myself and others. Here is a link to my latest image of Jupiter captured with a Celestron Neximage:-

http://stargazerslounge.com/imaging-planetary/89177-jupiter-grs-last.html

Brinders

Dazraz

Earlier this week I got my first piccies using the neximage and posted them on SGL [Jupiter and Uranus]. These were merely pushed through registax align and stack. Take a look. One of the pics I didn't post showed the moons of Jupiter very well, but the planet was horribly over-exposed. My thinking is, if it can pick up those at about mag 6, it should be able to pick up stars at around the same mag. Being an open cluster freak I intend to try for M41 when I get a clear morning. Should be possible with the neximage, I think, with several 7m stars. Will let you know how it goes ... when the clouds clear ...

Dazraz