NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello

Levdr

Hello. My name is Levina, I'm Dutch, living in Amsterdam. I've been gazing at the stars for quite some time now with a pair of binoculars. I'm also a rather passionate photographer (of birds mostly) and I do that with a Canon 40D. A month or two ago I was gazing at the night sky again and suddenly thought: why not point the camera at the stars. I did and lo and behold: the photos showed things I had never seen before! So I'm all excited now -reading books, looking at star charts, running Stellarium- and I want a scope! As I am most interested in imaging, and as I have frustratingly little money, I decided on a small refractor. FLO is having a great deal at the moment: the Celestron 80mm ED on a CG-5 mount for only £ 315. It's a killer price I think. Although I am worried as I read somewhere that the shop doesn't sell outside the UK. Is this true?

Anyway, this seems like a nice lounge to hang out in. Nice to be here. :D

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thank you people for all the kind words. As for FLO, I don't know what to make of it, as I have already emailed twice (4 days ago en 2 days ago). I don't know what else to do. But nevermind, I emailed another shop, in Germany, this morning and they already answered, offering me a nice deal, so if I haven't heard anything from FLO by Monday, I will except the other deal. That would be the Skywatcher 80mm ED-R, with the same mount.

I'm so looking forward to all that's to come. I mean, I'm at the stage where I get excited by the photos I took of Jupiter where I can see three moons. I can't make out Jupiter, as that is still just a bright dot, but the moons are definitely there. :D

No idea why FLO havent answered - they are pretty good normally

It pains me to say this, but I've sent 4 mails to FLO since I joined SGL and never had a single reply. I sometimes wonder if I'm writing in white ink on a white background.