NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Kelling, Autumn 2023

59 minutes ago, icpn said:

make sure you can black it out and keep its outside lights off. Are you bringing a telescope? If you are intending to image then making sure your laptop screen can be completely shaded.

Thanks. Keeping dark should be easy enough. I will be bringing a scope or two. I’m not an imager so no laptop. 

19 hours ago, Richard N said:

Just booked. I’m a Star Party Noob. Any tips? I’m in a motorhome. 

Well done! I’m just about to book a tent pitch at the same event, currently deciding which is the best spot. I’ve limited experience at star parties, but from what I’ve seen, blacking out is not to be underestimated - in the pitch black of the night any tiny gap of light can seem blinding and really upset people, so a test run is a good idea. On cars there’s a Christmas tree of lights every time it’s locked/unlocked or opened, so literally everything has to be covered if you need to get in or out of your car, but I guess you won’t have one of those though. Hope to see you there. 🙂

Remember Kelling is by far the largest star party in the UK and if full will be close to 7-8 hundred astronomers there and is spread over a large area.  I must admit I am surprised that pitches are still available as it is normally booked out months before.

Finally booked my pitch - there were quite a few pitches left but when checking satellite view I realized why; they are the ones where sky is partially obscured by trees. I chose the best one I could, but it’s not that important as my setup is very portable so I can find a good spot to observe, and tbh, it will be nice to just wander around the site sharing views and chatting with other fellow enthusiasts. 🙂

Edited by RobertI
  • Like 2