Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

40mm/B1200 Tilt tuning or 50mm/B600 pressure tunning ?

soulearth

Hi,
I want to buy a lunt but I hesitate on two model. I am a beginner and do not master the technologies specific to solar observation.
For about the same price, I hesitate between the Lunt 40 B1200 model and the Lunt 50 B600 model.
The main objective is to make visual observations at the beginning but I will certainly also make photos. I already have an astro camera.
I have already tried a Lunt 40 B600 but found it to be poorly contrasted and with an observation position difficult to find and unpleasant due to the shadows that appear as soon as you move a little.
I was also advised against pressure tuning as it would be less reliable due to leakage issues.

What do you recommend ?

Thank you
Best regards,

I have the 50mm, great little scope. The only big thing letting it down is the helical focuser. You will want to upgrade to a FeatherTouch/MoonLite if planning to image. I did, and it is a night and day difference when it comes to user enjoyment! I have had no problems with the PT leaking. If you do get a problem, it is usually down to worn O-rings and/or lack of grease. Both are easy to fix.

Edited by Chris-h
  • Like 1

I have the 40 and love it.

The instant use and ease of use are the making of this scope for me. 
I am a visual observer.

The helical focuser is the scopes weakness, but once used to it things settle down.

I do admit to having the FT focuser on order though.

Whichever way you jump, go for it, the Suns going nuts at the minute and now is the best time to go for it.

Edited by Alan White
  • Like 2

4 hours ago, Alan White said:

I have the 40 and love it.

The instant use and ease of use are the making of this scope for me. 
I am a visual observer.

The helical focuser is the scopes weakness, but once used to it things settle down.

I do admit to having the FT focuser on order though.