Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Meade LX90 EMC 8" Tracking self-located objects with Autostar (no GPS)

Hello folks,

After almost 4 decades without a decent telescope, I've just been lucky enough to acquire a second hand Meade LX90 EMC 8" in fantastic condition. I've never used Autostar/GoTo before. I always loved using star charts and star hopping to find deep sky objects. The Autostar's GoTo function could be handy to confirm the positions of faint objects, but I will almost certainly locate the majority of objects manually. I do want to take advantage of sidereal tracking though to keep my located object in view. Can anyone tell me if it's possible to just set the handset to track whatever I'm viewing if I've found it myself without GoTo and whether that involves doing the alignment process at the start of every observing session?