NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First Image

This is my first attempt at an intended target, really just to prove that i could actually 'drive' the telescope at long last. It is the Pacman Nebula. There is 34mins of integration with 90 second subs using a Vixen VC200L with a Canon 1000D ( modded ). Tracking wasn't great, hopefully because i calibrated PHD on the target rather then nearer celestial equator. Why are the stars with defraction spikes diamond shaped ? Any suggestions on exposure time on this target ? Noise reduction ? I would have had longer on target but i attempted to plug in a dew heater on low power into my usb hub and heard the camera shutter close immediately so i called it a night.

Pac-Done.thumb.jpg.264adf9c7fdaa2f9b98f8fa482eb20e2.jpg

• Like 5

53 minutes ago, Ohgodwherediditgo said:

The camera was set to Bulb for use with nina. I'm not sure if nina automatically changes that.

Edit: I should also mention that i had never picked up a DSLR before buying this one to point at the sky.

Bulb will be the exposure time .... aperture will be set on your camera .. e.g f5.6 ... f8 ... etc. .. oh I may be wrong as you are not using a lens are you.

Edited by shropshire lad
  • Like 1

Aperture is set as its connected to a telescope I think?

That's a good first image! Something to be proud of for sure :)

I cant comment on guiding and star shape, but as you said, a short integration time on a full moon (near the moon at that) is always going to be tough going with a one shot colour camera. Especially for targets such as pac man (nebulas in general really). A moonless night + much more integration time will be the biggest improvement I think.

Did you take calibration frames? (Flats/Bias). Also must haves!

hopefully someone more technically minded will give advice about the scope/guiding/specific image details shortly. :)

• Like 1