Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Does anyone else get 77 degrees when measuring an ADM (Vixen mini) dovetail angle?

MercianDabbler

Online sources (including ADM) give 75 degrees as the angle of the Vixen style mini dovetail.

I milled my own with a 75 degree angle and it doesn't quite match. I've checked mine and I'm as sure as I can be that I hit the angle correctly.

Measuring an actual piece of ADM dovetail and doing some trig I got an answer of 77 degrees... which would explain why my ADM clamps grip the fat side of the dovetail and have a small gap where the clamp jaw ends.

The clamps grip OK and I doubt I will do anything about it now because my putting metal back on cutter seems to have gone astray... but thought I'd ask.

It would be interesting to know how a proper Vixen one measures up too.

I’ve observed a range of angles and also widths in vixen style dovies. Not sure what is “correct” or what the original Vixen spec was. Darned annoying when it doesn’t work out, though!

Edited by JeremyS
  • Like 1

2 hours ago, JeremyS said:

I’ve note a range of angles and also widths in vixen style dovies. Not sure what is “correct” or what the original Vixen spec was. Darned annoying when it doesn’t work out, though!

Thanks. Kinda comforting to know that it's not just me then.

I think this was the page that I was using as my original source - it does seem to have been measured by someone who recognises the difficulty of measuring a dovetail so hopefully they did it right.

I also just found a drawing of the Stella Mira bar on the FLO site. That drawing gives an angle of 76 degrees.

I think ADM are probably consistent between their bars and clamps and between clamps bought on different occasions... so it's puzzling that their web site says 75 degrees. Oh well.

3 minutes ago, MercianDabbler said:

Thanks. Kinda comforting to know that it's not just me then.