NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What is wrong with this image?

Hi all,

I have been imaging recently without issue but i'm very new to this, i went for the Markarians chain last night but it seems to have issues all around the image?, I'm not sure whether it's light pollution or poor Darks/Flats. 

I used a UV/IR Filter. Any help would be great just so i can find out what it is to make sure it doesn't happen again as this was a total of 4 hours imaging! Thanks.

1.TIF

4 minutes ago, Astro Noodles said:

Hi 

What kit were you using? Also, what time were these subs take?

What do you think is wrong with the image?

I was using Skywatcher evostar 80ED, an ASI553MC Pro for imaging and a HEQ5 Mount. The subs were taken from 11pm to 3am this morning. After stretching the image i see blue stars all around the the outside of the image and i can't balance the colour with the centre of the image

To be honest it doesn't look too bad.  

Using your TIF I have given it a very quick stretch and removed the green caused by the colour camera. 

There are some gradients which I have quickly removed using AstroFlat Pro but these don't look terrible.  Probably light pollution in your area.  

Otherwise the data looks ok to me.  

1.thumb.jpg.5f167648ca0f13fb669b5d976003cb83.jpg

• Like 1

Gradient removal does need the right software tools. I think the top dog is still Dynamic Background Extraction in Pixinsight but there are others. AstroArt is pretty good. The previous post shows that the data are workable.

Olly

• Thanks 1

19 minutes ago, Snoani said:

To be honest it doesn't look too bad.  

Using your TIF I have given it a very quick stretch and removed the green caused by the colour camera. 

There are some gradients which I have quickly removed using AstroFlat Pro but these don't look terrible.  Probably light pollution in your area.  

Otherwise the data looks ok to me.  

1.thumb.jpg.5f167648ca0f13fb669b5d976003cb83.jpg