Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Keep close to authentic look of object or create stunning, award winning and over processed photo?

Hello Guys,

I am an absolute beginner as I have started with astrophotography less than one month ago. I am not sure if these kind of questions are typical only for newbies or this is something common. So astrophotography is about to show objects in clear way, possibly closest to how actually those objects look like or this is an art to attract audiences so casual interpretation is allowed (of course within the limits of good taste)? To be honest before I have started I was sure this is more about showing objects the way they look like but apparently I was wrong. 

From the other hand how we can be sure object (especially in terms of colours) really look like if ever scope/lens have different colour sensitivity? I will give you an example. As far as I know Rosette nebula is made of hydrogen, maybe with some trixogen in the middle so first thoughts that you have is that is should be red'ish and blue'ish inside what most of the photos of this object confirms. But I see a lot of adaptations where it is whole blue, rusty brown or whatever. Same with Orion nebula. Nowadays I see a lot of adaptations where it has external layers of nebulosity... WHITE. And I would say those photos collect the most of recognition.

My apologies for chaotic way of explaining my doubts but I really wonder what is your opinion when it comes to natural photos, maybe with a bit bumped colours, contrast etc. or stunning, overedited "arts"? Probably truth is somewhere in the middle, in the sweet spot but my concerns is that those overedited/unnatural photos are a way more popular. 

Edited by raf2020
  • Like 1