Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Scope arrives tomorrow, advice needed!

:hello1:

It should be here when I get home from work, I had to change my budget in the end as a sudden torrent of bills/road tax etc came flooding in, I bought a skywatcher 200p with the EQ5 mount and dual axis motors as well as a polarscope and moon filter. Thanks loads for everyones help and advice :)

I am a noob basically so when I have the hardware sussed out, what do I need to remember (this is my optimism of at least some clear sky time tomorrow!)

I will be venturing as far as my back yard in cornwall for the first night, please add to my check list.....

Loads of warm clothes

Water in the kettle

Turn left at Orion

LED light with red paint

Home made dew shield using black mounting card and velcro

Leave scope to cool for 20-30 mins (do i just set it up and wait?)

Usefull tips for beginners to remember???

Thanks, James :) :salute:

Hi James,

I would recommend spending some time getting to know how your new scope works in the daylight - the way the mount works, the slow motion controls, the motors, how the eyepieces fit, that sort of thing. The equatorial mount is quite a complex bit of kit and time spent familiarising yourself with it in the daylight is well spent I think.

My other piece of advice is not to be in a rush to use high magnifications with your scope. Most observing is done at low to medium power (40x - 100x).

Hope you enjoy it !.

John

Thanks :) I have just minutes ago downloaded the full instructions for the 200p in PDF to get to grips with what im going to be fiddleing with tomorrow, I was going to be working a bit late but I think now its going to be the other way round as im going to bea bit urm.. keen to go and un pack it and spend a few hours like you say, in the light/indoors getting to know its functions, I dont expect to get it set up with the motors etc right away.

I have to echo what John has suggested :thumbright:

Also...