NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Recommendations on 6” reflector please

With reference to my earlier post about in dilemma of choosing a new telescope, seems like it that I might have to choose. 6” purely due to lack of funds and off course storage.

which 6” reflector would you guys recommend?

dobs or eq2 mount?

focal length 1200 or 700?

this will help me narrow down to a few!

thanks in advance to everyone out there!

A 6 inch reflector (even an F/5 one) is likely to be unsteady on an EQ2 mount but will be very solid on the dobsonian mount.

The Skywatcher 6 inch dobsonians are F/8.

3 hours ago, galaxy-gazer said:

With reference to my earlier post about in dilemma of choosing a new telescope, seems like it that I might have to choose. 6” purely due to lack of funds and off course storage.

dobs or eq2 mount?

I am no expert, but I'll jump in because I also set out to find a 6'' reflector. The problem that I found is that an eq2 mount would be unstable unless you spend a fortune on  a very solid one. A dobs would be stable and cheap. In the end I didn't go that way because my partner didn't want a dobs because they're bulky, so we decided to go for an SCT instead of a reflector. The SCT costs more money than a dobs, but not as much as a reflector with an eq2 mount strong enough to hold it steady.

For a 6'' = 150mm aperture we get:

FL = 1200 -->  focal ratio = F/8

FL = 700 --> focal ratio = F/4.67

I have been advised that a focal ratio around F/5 is very difficult to use because the image goes out of focus very easily, and you may need to spend a lot of money on an expensive eyepiece just to get the F/5 to work. I have been told that it's better to go for a longer focal ratio (so in this case, F/8) because it's easier to use and a less expensive eyepiece works just fine.

19 hours ago, galaxy-gazer said:

dobs or eq2 mount?

Thank you all for the advise and recommendations...

I think I am nearly there in deciding...