Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

which lens and filter to buy?

merlinxlm

Hello everyone, could some one point me to the right direction regarding, filters and lenses for my Celestron C6-S? At the present, I have a 9mm, 25mm and a barlow X2, plus a moon filter. I'm interested in DSO's, I saw the Orion nebula the other night and could clearly see the nebulosity and the main centre stars, but no colour, do I have to buy a nebular filter to see any colour? I was very exited to see my first DSO through my new scope. I was using my 25mm with the barlow, I found that it showed more detail than the 9/25mm lenses. What would be the best set up for observing DSO's? Am I expecting to much out of my scope to see DSO's? Sorry to ask such simple questions, but I'm new to using telescopes.

Thank you.

Sadly you'll never see colour in M42, no filter will help. But you can enhance you view you already get. A narrowband or OIII filter will help bring out more of the detail in the M42 and other similiar Nebulae. I use an Orion Ultrablock 2" and find it greatly enhances the view.

My only reservation would be the aperture of your scope. These filters need good aperture to work best. 150mm maybe okay? I know the view in my 80mm apo is better without the filters but much enhanced in the 12.5" newt.

Russ

• 1 month later...

This is my first post and am on the edge of buying my first telescope!! My main focus would be seeing DSO's as well. I have already decided on an Orion XT10 Dobsonian. You mentioned aperture was a key factor, will 10" provide any color? Why is it that no color is visible from Orion? Is it due to our eyes not being able to collect the light from said DSO's? Thanks in advance! I love this hobby!

Cheers

Joe

• 2 weeks later...