Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Any Fine-tuning tips for SkyWatcher SynScan Alignment?

I know I am getting picky, and have really had pretty good luck with my scope for the little time I have had with clear skies since I got it.  But, my alignments aren't as rock-solid as I'd like them to be.  For example, on a bright night (moon), I can do my typical align and then look for a deep sky object..some galaxy or nebula...and it -nearly- gets it right.  On a dark night, I can fiddle around and find the objective, but when it is bright, if it doesn't land "slap on it," I'm in trouble.  And, it doesn't.  Most of the time it is fairly close, but never the bullseye.

The routine I use, as carefully as I can is:

1. Level the base of the Dobsonian mount with shims.

2 . Point the scope True North (not magnetic) and level the tube (bubble-level).

3. Turn on the Synscan unit and enter exact data for time, date, Lat/Lons and etc.  I am a pilot and am used to being careful about these data.

4. Perform a 2 star alignment with the hand unit (sometime I use the 3 star with the Android App, but it doesn't seem to matter), being careful to select stars at least 90 degrees away from each other in the sky.

5. On "Alignment Successful," I proceed with selecting a target for it to find.

I am careful to center the object in the eyepiece at each stage, using the remote controls of either the hand unit or the App.  I try not to touch the scope at all once I start the alignment process and after it is aligned. As I said, it gets pretty close, but never the bullseye.  I use a 25mm lens for aligning and have tried moving to a 10mm to make sure of centering, though that didn't seem to make any difference.

Any suggestions, tips and tricks would be most welcome.