Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Another numpty beginner needs your help!...

Hello all,

The good lady wife has (finally) conceded and given me the green light to get my first telescope.

What a choice! So, what do I want to see? As much as possible really! My quandry is as follows; do I go for

a) Either a 6" or 8" Newtonian reflector such as a Sky-Watcher Explorer with a manually operated equatorial mount

or

:D One of the scopes with the fancier auto tracking mounts. It seems to me that it's much easier to set up, but you get less optics for your money.

Now I am not adverse to setting the scope up manually, in fact consider that part of the challenge. I like challenges. I'm an engineer so don't foresee I'll have any major problems (oh dear, famous last words) - or am I setting myself up for a fall? Is it better to learn from this 'ground up' approach to gain a better understanding of the dynamics of it all, or is it all frankly a pain in the butt and I'd be better just getting an auto tracking scope.

My next question is I'd like to try and acquire some images via a camera, either a DSLR or other CCD type camera (I work in machine vision so laying my theiving hands on CCDs is not a problem.). I'm guessing that exposure times will be quite long so trying to track manually will yield awful results. Are the auto tracking mounts accurate enough to prevent blurring etc? I'm guessing the low end market mounts probably don't, plus you get vibration from the motors etc?

I'll not be attempting this until I've got to grips with operating the scope, but it's something I would like to try later on, so I'd like the scope to have the provision to allow me to do this.

Does the greater light collecting properties of a newtonian reflector give shorter exposure times and negate the need to track the subject?