Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Finding a good dark site!

Hello everyone, I’m new to astronomy and have been slowly learning the last month or so and using my telescope and binoculars in my back garden I’ve managed to see andromeda, Pleiades and one of Jupiter’s moons(not sure which one). I have a beginners telescope (Bresser Skylux 70/700 refractor with a 20mm lens and a 12mm lens and a 2 x Barlow)  I now feel my next step is to go out to a suitable ark site to truly see a difference without any light pollution. I’m from the north east of Scotland and my house is on the very edge of town facing away from the town centre, going by the light pollution site I think the bortle rating is class 4. I’ve been looking at site around that look like class 2 (Going by the light pollution site) even some that look like class 1. The problem I see is that they all seen to be in farmers fields or just empty fields. Obviously  I wouldn’t enter a field with animals or crops! But do I need permission to enter the empty ones?. How does everyone find their dark sites? Also am I likely to see much DSO with my limited scope? 

Thanks for your time

Jon 

51595CF5-BFAB-45DE-AC51-B0AED6810064.png

• Like 1

Looking at Google maps it looks like you've got some lovely open moorland to the South of Elgin. I'd be scouting around during the day to look for any sort of layby or old forestry tracks to set up as there's not much light pollution southwards....as long as your vehicle can get there and back...

52 minutes ago, Beulah said:

Looking at Google maps it looks like you've got some lovely open moorland to the South of Elgin. I'd be scouting around during the day to look for any sort of layby or old forestry tracks to set up as there's not much light pollution southwards....as long as your vehicle can get there and back...

+1 for finding a back lane laybay or just a field entrance. No point lugging gear into a field. 

• Like 1

First, welcome to SGL.