NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First venture into mono imaging

knobby

So, here I am at the start of a new learning curve. My first Ha capture, I wanted to try the horse head but it was too low so moved up and left to the rosette. It's not brilliant but it will always be my first mono capture.

ZWO 1600 M, Ha filter, SW ED72 - W.O. 0.8 reducer. Best of 20 X 180 seconds and 10 matching darks at -15°c

Resized and crop to centre better and remove stacking artifacts.

Rosette Ha 13_4_19_1.png

I am no expert and actually on the very same learning curve as yourself with very similar equipment but for a first image that looks exceptional.  Others with good knowledge will probably have some good  advice where to improve, but I would certainly be more than happy with that image.

Steve

Thanks Steve, must admit, when I was capturing image that close to the moon and low down in the murk of East London's LP I did wonder what it would look like . I've done a false colour version ... Looks prettier ?

Rosette Ha false colour 13_4_19-2.png

2 minutes ago, souls33k3r said:

An awesome first light matey. Now you'll wonder why you never hit the mono imaging route earlier :D

Thanks Ahmud, you're right ... Wish I'd have done it before the Horse head got too low.

Lots of detail in there, looks very promising. The mono version is quite noisy, could be sky noise from London but I'd recommend taking 30+ darks as 10 may not average out that well. Is the background a bit on the dark side perhaps?

I'm enjoying imaging in Ha. Even from a very dark site you get more detail and contrast, and the processing is easier and less time consuming.

29 minutes ago, Knight of Clear Skies said:

Lots of detail in there, looks very promising. The mono version is quite noisy, could be sky noise from London but I'd recommend taking 30+ darks as 10 may not average out that well. Is the background a bit on the dark side perhaps?