Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first telescope

Hi,

I am a completely newbie and have a question about my first potential telescope if that is ok here.

As said completely newbie, but i want something that i won't want to replace after a short while.

Preferably motorized and capable of connecting a camera.

I have been looking at the Celestron Nexstar 127 SLT MAK and the Sky-Watcher Explorer 130AZ-Gti.

Which one of those would you reccomend?

Or would you go for something else?

Thanx.

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think you might want to replace either of them fairly soon as neither are particularly suitable for imaging. The 127 Mak will give you good views of the Moon and also the planets when they are better positioned. The 130 reflector will be better for the lower power wider field objects. For the apparent budget you could get a 8" Dobsonian which would be light years better on both types of objects. Leave imaging until you can invest in the level of equipment necessary for satisfying results and after you have had a good time exploring the visual side of the subject.  Welcome to SGL.   ?

12 minutes ago, Peter Drew said:

I think you might want to replace either of them fairly soon as neither are particularly suitable for imaging. The 127 Mak will give you good views of the Moon and also the planets when they are better positioned. The 130 reflector will be better for the lower power wider field objects. For the apparent budget you could get a 8" Dobsonian which would be light years better on both types of objects. Leave imaging until you can invest in the level of equipment necessary for satisfying results and after you have had a good time exploring the visual side of the subject.  Welcome to SGL.   ?

Thank you Peter :)
Taking pictures is not the most important part, exploring and watching is.

I am also dependent that it is availible in Norway.