Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EP's and filters for dob viewing

Hi everyone, total beginner here... I've purchased a 'Sky-Watcher Skyliner 250PX FlexTube GOTO' which I'll be collecting very soon (excited!) and I'd love to get some input on what EP's/filters to prioritise.
The scope is coming with (1.25"): SP10 & 25mm EPs and as an extra, a maxvision 16mm (thanks to my seller being a top bloke!)

I'm planning on investing in a filter (probably UHC over Oiii - only going for one of the two initially* due to budgetary reasons and UHC seems to be a better all-rounder). I'm in a fairly light-polluted area. 

It was recommended to me to get an 8 or 5mm EP for moon/planetary - is there any reason I should get one of these over a barlow (and using it with my 10mm), which seems to be a more efficient buy? 

For DSO's, is my 25mm sufficient or should I be looking at something closer to 32/34mm?
If the answer to that is 'yes, go get a 32/34mm EP' - is there any reason for choosing a 2" EP over a 1.25"? - I'm purely thinking about budget and only having to buy the UHC filter in the one (potentially 1.25") size.

I've done my best to sound like I know what I'm talking about here, but apologies if any of those questions turn out to be daft! 
All advice on this welcome.

Hi and welcome to the forum !

Great scope choice and I'm sure there will be loads of advice forthcoming.

My tip would be not to be in a massive hurry to buy additional eyepieces, filters etc until perhaps you have tried the scope a few times. There are so many choices of things to enhance the experience that it's easy to jump into some decisions that may well need to be changed later, once your own experiences can have an influence. This can mean some abortive cost :wink:

If you go for the "full set" of favouite stuff up front you will need to invest as much as the scope has cost again !

Hope you enjoy the scope !

Welcome to the forum. ?