Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help with the RA and DEC

Hello newbie here. Following the instructions of my telescope ( celestron astromaster 130EQ -MD)  I set up  the balance the level of the tripod.. all seems good.  The instructions also say I should set  up the angle of longitude ( 53 degrees ) and point the telescope north, all is good there also . However it presents a problem if I want to observe the low angle of  a waxing crescent moon which is due in the next day or so  that is more of a south west direction. Do I  have to manipulate the RA and DEC to about face the telescope from facing north or do I just move the whole unit around and find it that way? The instructions say the Motor drive will track  objects on DA if set up facing north and I want to track the moon  for photography reasons so  I need some advice as I'm stuck .

cheers 

1 minute ago, Claydon said:

Hello newbie here. Following the instructions of my telescope ( celestron astromaster 130EQ -MD)  I set up  the balance the level of the tripod.. all seems good.  The instructions also say I should set  up the angle of longitude ( 53 degrees ) and point the telescope north, all is good there also . However it presents a problem if I want to observe the low angle of  a waxing crescent moon which is due in the next day or so  that is more of a south west direction. Do I  have to manipulate the RA and DEC to about face the telescope from facing north or do I just move the whole unit around and find it that way? The instructions say the Motor drive will track  objects on DA if set up facing north and I want to track the moon  for photography reasons so  I need some advice as I'm stuck .

cheers 

The tripod stays put and the RA and DEC clutches are released and the telescope slewed to the new target, retightening the clutches when done.

see here http://www.astronomyboy.com/eq/