NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

My first telescope

Hi there, I’m new to the forum but thought this would be the best place to ask for advice.

I have a massive interest in astronomy so think it’s time to make the move to buy a telescope but want to make sure I’m not going to be disappointed when I get one.

I have my eyes on the Sky-watcher 130p so 130mm diameter aperture and 650mm focal length and is about £200 so for a beginner this seems suitable.

Could anyone give me an opinion as to whether this is a good buy or even if there is a telescope at a similar price which would be more worth buying. Any info is much appreciated.

Hi, Welcome to the forum a great place to learn and chat.

I am pretty new to all this as well which means my advice may be limited. What will help with getting advice is to maybe elaborate on what you potentially hope to do with the scope, observing only or astrophotography and do you have a main interest in planets or DSO's. Most new to the hobby either are not sure or want to have a go at it all. Unfortunately, there really is no do it all scope. Yes, most can observe planets and DSO's and you can take images through all of them but none are really great at all of them.

Also if you do intend to do any serious imaging of DSO's then best advice is to put the majority of your cash into a good sturdy mount. The best scope in the world with a poor mount will not take decent images.

The 2nd hand market always has a lot to offer, especially for beginners equipment as many sell their early stuff on after a while as then progress in the hobby.

My first scope, like so many, was a Dobsonian like this.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian.html