SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello All

AstroWyc

Hello All

I have been using an etx105 manually for last 10 years and now moved to equatorial Mount (eqm-35 pro go to) and just started with it. Any help with the top part where the scope is attached as the scope is not aligned straight with the mount. Would this not put the scope out of sync? 

Any help would be great! 

Hi, AW, & welcome to SGL.

Not quite sure what you are asking (can you provide a photo?) and don't know this specific mount, but basically:

(1) Mount needs to be aligned with the earth's axis (polar alignment) - this has nothing to do with the scope that is on it.

(2) Scope needs to be aligned with the sky (star alignment) - this teaches the mount where the scope is pointing.

Once you have done these, the mount should put the scope on target. As long as there is no slack between mount and scope, it should not matter how the scope is positioned (or if it is "aligned straight") on the mount.

12 hours ago, Demonperformer said:

Hi, AW, & welcome to SGL.

Not quite sure what you are asking (can you provide a photo?) and don't know this specific mount, but basically:

(1) Mount needs to be aligned with the earth's axis (polar alignment) - this has nothing to do with the scope that is on it.

(2) Scope needs to be aligned with the sky (star alignment) - this teaches the mount where the scope is pointing.

Once you have done these, the mount should put the scope on target. As long as there is no slack between mount and scope, it should not matter how the scope is positioned (or if it is "aligned straight") on the mount.