SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

p530 long exposure photos

Sirty

The p530 cannot take photos with an exposure time longer than 30 seconds on an ISO of 100; however, I can't see any stars with that ISO, the sky is dark enough that I should be able to get, at the very least, some stars. I was wondering if there was any way to help either increase that exposure time (even if I get star trails, at this point I just want something) or to do photo stacking with a list of photos. I'm fairly new at astrophotography but I have looked around on the forum and haven't seen anything about the p530. 

Hi, We have a P510. It's a bridge camera, more for simple point and shoot. I tried a little astro stuff with it using a tripod but the lack of long exposure is not ideal. I done a bit of digging around the web and i dont think its possible to increase the exposures. Cracking optical zoom though!

I bought a Canon 600D just for astro instead. Much better though if you prefer Nikon then I think they are just as good. The Canons seem to be more popular.

52 minutes ago, david_taurus83 said:

Hi, We have a P510. It's a bridge camera, more for simple point and shoot. I tried a little astro stuff with it using a tripod but the lack of long exposure is not ideal. I done a bit of digging around the web and i dont think its possible to increase the exposures. Cracking optical zoom though!

I bought a Canon 600D just for astro instead. Much better though if you prefer Nikon then I think they are just as good. The Canons seem to be more popular.

I am thinking on getting a new camera, but I am on a budget so if I do i would need to sell my old camera. Does the Canon 600D work well for street photography? Or do you know one that is balanced in both sides? I don't think I can afford to buy two lenses if they are above 2-300 though.