SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Solar Granulation

Hi all

I'm new to white light solar observing, with sunspot activity low at the moment, I would like to try for granulation.  Under what conditions is granulation visible?

My setup is 120mm Evostar with Lacerta Herschel wedge and Baader Solar Continuum filter.

Thanks

Paul

From what I understand (Stu knows a lot about this) seeing true granulation is actually quite difficult. There is a texture visible across the white light solar surface quite often visible but I'm not sure that this is actually granulation ?

Perhaps Stu will chip in soon and explain ? :smiley:

25 minutes ago, John said:

From what I understand (Stu knows a lot about this) seeing true granulation is actually quite difficult. There is a texture visible across the white light solar surface quite often visible but I'm not sure that this is actually granulation ?

Perhaps Stu will chip in soon and explain ? :smiley:

I always thought it was granulation you could see mainly close to the limb.  Interested to see if this isn't actually the case.

I use an Evostar 120, Lunt 1.25" wedge and Solar Continuum / single polarising filter. With decent seeing I can usually see granulation with my Revelation 15mm (~70x). I find patience is key, a quick glance will not show it but persevering and adjusting the brightness with the polariser will often bring out the detail.

1 minute ago, bish said:

I always thought it was granulation you could see mainly close to the limb.  Interested to see if this isn't actually the case.

That's faculae (bright areas).

6 minutes ago, David Smith said:

I use an Evostar 120, Lunt 1.25" wedge and Solar Continuum / single polarising filter. With decent seeing I can usually see granulation with my Revelation 15mm (~70x). I find patience is key, a quick glance will not show it but persevering and adjusting the brightness with the polariser will often bring out the detail.