Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My first DSOs, a dream came true

Archonom

Last night one of my dreams came true when I managed to obtain my first DSO shots. I am still a bloody beginner and just started in February this year. Since then, I focused on planetary imaging because decent results could be achieved easily. But my biggest goal is to learn how to image Deep Sky Objects, so I started practicing with my equipment and 3 star alignment.

Last night, I tested some new settings with the guiding, and although alignment was poor, I was able to capture a few things. I live in a very light polluted area, so I am glad that at least the brightest objects are visible on cam.

Unfortunately, the pics seem to be out of focus and the starts are not dots, but small eggs or lines. But still, I am very happy and it was definitely worth it staying up until 4 am. 

As usual, I would be very happy if you have feedback for me. When I view the images you guys post here, I am very fascinated of how professional they look. I can only imagine how many hours of work you put into a single picture, and I keep on being motivated by seeing this level of dedication.

Let's start with the Andromeda Galaxy:

andromeda_ses2_v10.thumb.jpg.9900eb3357bc47ff15f7d1d534f638d1.jpg

And the fishhead nebula:

fischkopfnebel.thumb.jpg.f043d6c4f60021d46de0dc652a3485c6.jpg

Wow, the Orion Nebula looks so awesome when shutter is greater than 2 seconds!

orion.thumb.jpg.e3241f5a4dfae8336a8e7be0f3d3c0bc.jpg

Plejades, single shot, 30s:

Plejaden.thumb.jpg.c3dd3297d4c10f4606367353a578c0d2.jpg

And finally, the horse head nebula, only few shots with 30s each and ISO 1600:

horsehead.thumb.jpg.53142b2b6ed8f5303aa0a32991df97d7.jpg

Next goals: Better Andromeda and horse head images. What would you say: In a light poluted area, how would you shoot those two objects?

I just started with 3 stars alignment and guiding, but I imagine it is better to shoot something like 10x5m than 20x2,5m?