Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Where's my M51

Hi all,

Novice here, 2nd attempt at imaging DSO. Aimed to capture M51 last night but think I might have been off target. I thought my polar and synscan alignment was pretty good and synscan seemed to be on target for other objects.

Can anyone tell me if I was off target or just didn't get enough data? I have tried matching the surrounding stars to other images of the area but can't seem to figure it out. I have attached the .tif output from DSS. I have played with levels and curves but can't reveal anything yet.

If it's bad news, can anyone at least identify the faint fuzzy for me?

Thanks in advance

Details:

Skywatcher 200PDS + HEQ5Pro mount

Lights 60x60sec ISO 800

10 darks, 10 bias

Autosave.tif

test.jpg

Here you go!  Just a little bit off.  The faint fuzzy is NGC 5422.

I got this result from http://nova.astrometry.net which took less than 20 secs to process it.

There's a free program, All Sky Plate Solver, which can achieve the same result if you don't have internet access from your imaging rig.  Takes a little bit of setting up but once done it solves very quickly and removes a lot of the frustration (been there, many, many times!)

Untitled-2.jpg

Untitled-3.jpg

16 minutes ago, almcl said:

Here you go!  Just a little bit off.  the faint fuzzy is NGC 5422.

I got this result from http://nova.astrometry.net which took less than 20 secs to process it.

There's a free program, All Sky Plate Solver, which can achieve the same result if you don't have internet access from your imaging rig.  Takes a little bit of setting up but once done it solves very quickly and removes alot of the frustration (been there, many, many times!)

Untitled-2.jpg

Untitled-3.jpg

Ahh thank you, much appreciated.Looks like they tools could come in handy.

So I was on the wrong side of Ursa Major, jeees! Learning curve indeed. At least I captured something :D