Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

TV plossl and M42

mikeDnight

Attached is a rough sketch of M42 & 43, made on the 6/1/18 at 2215 ut.

I say its a rough sketch because I ummed and erred so long before doing it that I was chilled to the core. The actual view through the Televue 25mm plossl was just so nice that I spent the best part of an hour observing the entire sword region, which was encompassed well within the eyepieces field of view with room to spare, that the detail overwhelmed me. The sketch can only ever be thought of as a not very good interpretation of what was seen.Stars are only roughly placed!

The scope was a 100mm F7.4 refractor giving a magnification of X30 (25mm TV plossl) ((prism diagonal view)), S=2 Antoniadi, T=5.

2018-02-08 12.21.33.jpg

8 hours ago, Highburymark said:

Mike - I'm no expert, but that is a beautiful sketch. V impressed.

And James (Jabeoo): What do you mean - you sold your TV plossls?!!! It was because of you that I bought my TV plossls!!! 

Without derailing a sketch thread (which is beautiful) & therefore keeping it brief,  Instead of aperture fever I got FOV fever!  How I am over that & on the hunt for them again.  

11 hours ago, jabeoo1 said:

This just makes me want my TV plossls back even more.......Stop teasing with this work of art. :)

Don't worry about it. It would make no difference to me if I was looking through the Lick refractor or a toilet roll tube, I could't sketch like that. :happy11:

I think there is always room for a few TV plossls even with a lot of widefield glass. There are times when I want to use a small simple eyepiece such as a plossl or an Ortho.

Thanks everyone for your kind comments!