Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help needed

Petesandie

Hi i'm new to astrophtograpy and your help is desperately needed here Trying my best to focus on Andromeda galaxy with no luck. I own a Celestron 8" HD telescope with Altair hypercam  178 colour ccd camera with Baader IR-Cut Neodymium filter Using Altair software to capture images Try'd every possible setting with it and this is the best i can get Your possible solution would be much appreciated many thanks

11-170830224159.jpg

Welcome to the SGL.

At least you have an image!....Astrophotography is not my speciality, although I'm learning, but someone here will be better equipped to help you.

What your image does show (remind me) is what M31 looks like from my back garden through my 200P (8") scope? nothing more than a little patch, more grey in colour than your image depicts, but when away from the house at a darker site, wow! M31 fill's my field of view, with detail and shape! :icon_biggrin: Same scope, better conditions, the difference is remarkable . 

Will an image of Andromeda through a Celestron 8" HD telescope fit on the sensor of the Altair hypercam 178. M31 is big and I suspect the image could be too big. So what you capture is just a portion of M31.

How long is the exposure and how many exposures did you take?

I assume it is on an equitorial mount to track the target. With that scope I guess you will need a minimum of twenty exposures each of twenty seconds, then stacked before anything begins to appear. A lot will depend on the tracking accuracy of the mount and the twenty exposues will be need for the dim image caused by the long focal length and so the large image.

Reason I say 20 and 20 is that I played once with M31 and on a faster lens I needed 10 exposures at 25 seconds each stacked to get anything that even resembled a blob - no detail. So the above is very much a minimum for something fuzz like.

Are you using a focal reducer ? One would help.