Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Just a beginner question

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and I'm new to astrophotography,too.

I'm about to get a Nikon D3300 with 18-55mm kit lens for beginning.

I was wondering about lenses and I was the 50mm 1.8 are so cheap.

So,my question is if I buy an D3300+50mm 1.8 lenses will they work with eq-1 motorized mount for longer exposures withouth startrails?

I don't have a big budget, all I have is money for the D3300..what can I do,I'm only 17 :) so I will save money to buy the 50mm 1.8 and later the eq-1 motorized mount if it can work for long exposures

And yeah I almost forget to mention that I want to photography the Milky Way at 50mm long exposures for some nice pictures (and Orion and those closer visible nebulae and nebulas in the Milky Way Center)

The D3300 have the APS-C sensor so the 50mm will work like 75mm so its better in my opinion :)

Thanks for help!

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The 50mm won't be a huge step up from the kit lens imho, you'd get wider field with the 18mm. The big advantage of a 50mm is that it mimics the field of view of the human eye so apart from the smaller f stop I'd be inclined to hang on to my money if it's just for astrophotography. The trick is to get your mount polar aligned as closely as possible. You should be able to get 45 secs without too much trouble at those focal lengths. With my 18mm I can get almost 2 mins with no noticeable trails on a fixed mount.

but perhaps someone more knowledgeable than me could give an opinion!!

Just now, Mr niall said: