Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

helios d= 200mm f= 1000mm

Hiya guys.

brand new to this and looking for advice on my first telescope. I want to be able to view the moon, rings of Saturn and the colours on Jupiter and maybe a glimpse of its moons. I have the chance to buy a helios d= 200mm f= 1000mm with a  Meade 4000 eye piece for £125. I'm sure it's an old scope as I can't find info on it. Would it be able to do what I wanted and is it worth the money. I'm new to all this so my knowledge is zero so any help would be great.

thanks in advance...... Scott

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello and welcome to the forum !

If it looks like the picture below then it's probably a good buy as long as the mirrors are clean and unmarked. It will show you the things you mention and a lot more !

They are the same scopes as the Skywatcher Explorer 200P. If it does not look like this then be cautious - there was another 200mm newtonian branded as Helios and that was not good at all. Different manufacturer and rather poor.

s-l225.jpg

This appears to be the same 8" Newtonian that I own. This is in essence an early Sky-watcher and a good quality instrument. I tracked down a review which was very positive. Even if you are not getting anything other than the items explicitly mentioned in your post it is probably worth the money. 

4 minutes ago, Scott Brown said:

I want to be able to view the moon, rings of Saturn and the colours on Jupiter and maybe a glimpse of its moons.

It will certainly do this for you, but to be honest so will any well-made telescope of 70mm aperture or more.

If a mount is not included, you will need an EQ5 or equivalent mount. They are sometimes available used. 

Thanks for the quick replies guys. John that is exactly the scope I'm looking at. It's on eBay just now and the guy lives in the same town as me but I wasn't sure if it was a good buy as I know nothing about them. Is it a good first scope?