Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Rosette Nebula: a first attempt at "Funny Colour" (HaHaRGB)

Filroden

This is my first attempt at taking and using narrowband within my LRGB images having recently acquired a Ha filter to fill the last slot in my 5 slot ZWO EFW.

I had taken a very little LRGB data already in late December and after an initial mistake in extracting the background (i.e. removing 80% of the nebula too) I ended up with the following:

large.58652aaaae5c4_NGC2239_20161228_v11.jpg

(15s subs at -20C, 139 gain and 21 offset: 77 x L, 32 x R, 39 x G, 40 x B on the Skywatcher Esprit 80 with the ZWO ASI 1600MM-C and ZWO LRGB filters)

On Tuesday (23 Jan) I had my first opportunity to use my new Ha filter and chose the Rosette Nebula as my target. My intention was to capture Ha and much more LRGB. However, I have a limited imaging window as I can only observe between NNW and SSE, so the Rosette quickly passes through it. Another issue I'd also not taken account of was my neighbour's heating vent sends steam in roughly the SE direction, further limiting my window until it turns off.

So, I only achieved a little data to add to the above. All new images taken at -20C, 300 gain and 50 offset. During processing I discarded all L data as it was weak in comparison to the Ha data, even when blended. I have also blended the Ha data into the red channel using the tutorial on the Light Vortex Astronomy website. 

Ha: integration of 35 x 30s (new) and 22 x 60s (new)

R: integration of 33 x 15s (original) and 10 x 30s (new)

G: integration of 39 x 15s (original) and 10 x 30s (new)

B: integration of 30 x 15s (original) and 10 x 30s (new)

Image captured in SGPro and processed in Pixinsight and finished in Lightroom.

Rosette in Ha

NGC2239_20161228_v2 1 Ha mono.jpg

Rosette in Ha-R(Ha)GB

large.5887bda89b043_NGC2239_20161228_v21HaRHaGB.jpg