Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skyportal or SkyFi3 wifi scope control - user experience survey

I am hoping that people will post here to report their experiences with these wifi scope control devices. What are you using them with? Which mount? Which software do you use, SkyPortal or SkySafari or something else? What hardware do you run the software on, i.e. what device and what version - e.g. iPad Air with 16MB. Finally, how do you find the performance? Do you experience lag, loss of connection, crashes?

If we get enough responses, this might provide answers to some questions such as:

Is the latest SkyPortal dongle any different to the original Skyq Link? Does the latest one perform any better?

What are the best partnering/host devices? Android, iPad, iPhone.

Do newer host devices with more powerful processors perform better than older devices?

Personally, I have been using a Celestron Skyq link on and off for a couple of years. When I first got it, there was a partnering Skyq app from Celestron that was pretty poor. Then the SkyPortal app came along, together with support in SkySafari, which improved things a lot. To answer my own questions, this is my setup:

Original Skyq link dongle

SkySafari 5

Original iPad with 16GB

Celestron AVX mount with Starsense

And this is my experience to date: