Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

DSLR or dedicated CCD?

edarter

Hi,

Thanks to father Christmas and some other money I've squirreled away I've got approx £450 to spend on either a DSLR or dedicated CCD. What would be my best option in that price range?

I'm still very new to astro photography and I was just considering a dslr as I know my way around them, it also appeals that I could use it as a second dslr when at airshows etc (I would get one suitable for daytime use also). But then it occurred to me that a dedicated CCD may get me further along the astro path.

I'm interested in deep sky, planetary and lunar. Currently unguided but using a sw130 PDS on an NEQ6.

Many thanks 

Ed

A used Canon 450D or 1000D, both should be achievable for around £100. An auto guider could fit into the budget also.

When you've learned all you need to get good pictures, you'll probably invest in a comacorrector as well. But see that as a future plan.

The orthodoxy says start with a DSLR. If you have one, this makes sense since it's free. (You've already bought it.) However, I don't agree with the orthodoxy, necessarily. If I want a chisel I don't sharpen a screwdriver. £450 would buy you a used CCD with Sony 285 chip. Yes, you'd need a manual filter wheel (electric is not necessary) and filters but the smaller sizes come up very cheaply as people sell them to buy larger sizes for larger chips. Until you are into a world of expensive modern modified DSLRs and very fast F ratio optics it is a simple fact that CCD is way better.

Doubtless I'll take some stick for this opinion but I had the same advice from Ian King when I started more than ten years ago and I'm glad I listened.

Olly