Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Looking for help. I'm a newbie

Hi everyone,

I just bought my first telescope - Celestron 127EQ PowerSeeker Telescope. And I am not sure why I see something in the middle of the eyepiece. When I looked at the Moon, i also got the blurry view in the eyepiece.

Can somebody please help me? Thank you in advance.

15595652_1732525397074325_631420386_o.jpg

Hi, your telescope is out of focus, you need to adjust the focuser which will move the eyepiece toward or away from the scope.

I would recommend trying this out in the day and focusing on the furthest away thing you can find (be careful not to point anywhere near the sun though).

Thus far, it sounds like you need to practice focusing your telescope. And, at the same time you do this, you can also set-up your finder-scope to align it to the main telescope. And you are advised to do this during daylight to make it easier.

Your scope is supposed to come with 2 eyepieces: 20mm and 4mm. You will want to practice using the 20mm for low-power. So put the 20mm into the drawtube of the focuser. Be sure to remove the caps on the finder-scope, and on the top-end of the scope's tube. Turn the focus-knobs to extend the drawtube out to it's full length - so the eyepiece is farthest from the scope. Now look around to find a distant obect of a mile or so away: Chrch-steeple, spire of a building, whatever you can find that won't move around. Assuming the finder-scope is ready to look through, move the telescope around on it's mount until you get the far-away object into the field-of-view of the small finder-scope. Then focus the finder to give you a sharp view. Now for the main-scope: