SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What is the recommended radiance level for stargazing?

Hello, I am a fourth-year Interior Design Student. For my Final Major Project I am hoping to design an observatory and lecture space designed to encourage more people to engage with stargazing.

I am currently researching the best location for this type of building. Naturally the darker the site the better it is for observing but I would like to know if there is a limit or maximum recommended level to the lighting radiance level or lux level of the surrounding area.

Attached is a photo of a lighting radiance key that may help to determine the answer to my question as it breaks the radiance levels down into sections.

I would be grateful for any opinions, knowledge or information relating to this J
Thank you in advance for your help

Larissa

radience levels.jpg

Since I have no correlation between the level given in term of radiance, this is going to be a bit of guess work and assumption. Will say that in astronomy people quote a NELM level and I have no idea what they are either.

For reasonable minimum I would say the darker green, 0.4 - 1.0. Reason for almost randomly selecting that one is that on some Ligh Pollution maps that green is the one that matches where I head to for a slightly darker site then where I live.

Now the other aspect. The most popular I know of is in a much worse radiance level, 3.0 - 6.0, I think, although equally may be 6.0 - 20.0. Again I am assuming that the colours correlate between the LP maps and your scale.