Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Andromeda, Full Moon

Cobberwebb

Hi everyone.

Looks like I will get some favourable weather in the coming days, but the moon is out and full. I finally have a car so I can get away from light polluted Weymouth, and tonight I took a drive and found a great spot to shoot (see image).
So to the point, I want to shoot Andromeda during these moonlit nights since the moon will be directly behind me. How much will it still affect my images?
I'm still a beginner, using a Nikon Z50 and the 50-250mm kit lens @250 (F6.3), but I do have a Star Adventurer now, so I'll go out and shoot if nothing for the practice (my polar alignments have been pretty good).

Untitled.png

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

No moon Friday, but not as many subs as I would have liked due to clouds rolling in. But I'm happy with this M31. This little Nikon Z50 and kit lens really is good. Last night was completely clear, so I thought I'd see what this un-modded camera could do with the Rosette, wow, not a bad 1st attempt.

M31_5.jpg

Rosette V2.jpg

• Like 16

35 minutes ago, LeeHore7 said:

They are fantastic images, how many subs and settings on both images did you have. The rosette nebula with your unmoded dslr is fantastic 👌

I didn't use any darks, just flats, as the lens produces a heavy vignette. For M31 I only had 36 useable (as I said the clouds rolled in) 90secs @ ISO1600, and I had 70-80 for the Rosette, same exposure settings as M31.
Yeah this mirrorless Nikon Z50 is a gem. Just did a little more processing on M31, using StarNet to do some star reduction, it maybe too much for some, but I like it.

M31_5a.jpg

Edited by Cobberwebb
  • Like 5

Here's a shot of my setup.

Nikon Z50, 50-250mm kit lens F4.4-F6.3
Star Adventurer
Benro Mach3 Tripod
Spare mobile phone using qDslrDashboard (USB tethered), a cheapo cycle mount to attach it to the tripod.
COOWOO lens warmer
2 USB power banks (1 to power the star tracker, 1 for the lens warmer)