Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Atik 383l Darks\Flats\Bias

AlistairW

Hello,

Got a few question on my process - hoping someone can help :-)

> Darks. These should be simple enough, - same duration as the lights and same temp. I can do these whenever.

> Flats. I use SGP capture software and I have an adjustable illuminated panel. I set the panel to some random illumination that then takes subs of 11 seconds to achieve a 23000 ADU. Is 11 seconds too long ? - Indeed does it mater how long ? I can make them shorter, simply by upping the brightness of the panel. (Flats need to be done with the original image train position I think).

> Bias. Is this simply setting a very short time on the image duration ? - No need to worry about temp, or image train. The Atik has a shutter so I think the limiting 'speed' would be 200ms to avoid shutter shadow. Again I think this can be done with the Atik lens cap on.

I am a bit new to CCD to thought it best to ask :-)

Thanks

Alistair

Try going without darks, I've never used them with my 383. As long as you have enough subs, your stacking should take care of the hot pixels (sigma clipping).

Also, take your flats at the same temp as your lights - otherwise the ADU readings will be inaccurate.

Also, take your flats at the same temp as your lights - otherwise the ADU readings will be inaccurate.

Flats are not supposed to be temperature dependent, I have never heard that before.  Where did you get that info Rob? 

> Bias. Is this simply setting a very short time on the image duration ? - No need to worry about temp, or image train. The Atik has a shutter so I think the limiting 'speed' would be 200ms to avoid shutter shadow. Again I think this can be done with the Atik lens cap on.

Bias won't be affected by shutter shadow as the lens cap will be on.  Just take shortest time possible with lens cap on.