Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginners Telescope?

My boyfriend is really into astronomy and we went out yesterday in the New Forest and took a look at the stars with a range of binoculars. I really wanted to get him a starter telescope or something for christmas but really have no idea what kind of telescope or brand is best. I'd like something that is affordable. My dad has an expensive Meade telescope so for anything more complex we are happy to use that. I just want him to have something that we can transport somewhat easily as its likely we will use it whilst out in the forest. 

The kind of things we want to see is; 

Clearer look at the stars

See the rings on Saturn/other planets

Sorry if I sound like a total novice, I have no real understanding of telescopes and don't want to buy something which is totally useless. He doesn't know anything about telescopes either, he just loves space so I'm sure he will be ecstatic with anything given how excited he was looking through some porro binoculars last night.

Some of the ones I have looked at are;

Celestron starterscope

Celestron powerseeker

Bresser Arcturus

Celestron Astromaster

Skywatcher Explorer

Skywatcher capricorn

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)