Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hey

narrowbandpaul

Hello Group.

I am Paul, a 20 year old imager from Scotland, and good friends with NGC2403 (ally). I have used his account for a few posts...

Despite my decent equipment, I dont do a lot of my own stuff, as I dont get the image quality I demand. So instead I got to a friends (Douglas Cooper) and he and I setup and acquire images. He sets up and guides, and I acquire the raw data with an SXV H9 and process the images.

Just now Douglas and i are focussing on Narrowband Imaging, with astrodon 1.25" filters.

I am very passionate about narrowband imaging, and believe it much more interesting than conventional RGB. I do a lot of research into narrowband imaging, but theres always more to learn.

Personally, I am a student at the university of Glasgow, about to go into my fourth year studying Physics and Astronomy. I am in the same class as Ally (NGC2403). I hope to become an Airline Pilot someday, and have logged over 40hours on a single engine prop (Katana DA20)

I hope to offer assistance with any problems you guys have, and to learn from others experiences

Cheers

Paul

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Paul, welcome aboard. I have to ask, if you want to be a commercial pilot why are you doing an Astronomy degree? If it's just for interest then I fully understand. Not a criticism or anything I'm genuinely interested, I would have thought you might have wanted to be a physicist or something. Best of luck with both the degree and the plane driving.

dave,

i am doin the degree because I enjoy astronomy. I enjoy learning about the various mechanisms whereby the universe works. There is no money in physics, well not in research. I dont want to teach cos I might kill the kids...

Flying is awesome, except if u are a passenger...then its boring. Seeing the world from the 3rd dimension is pretty cool.

Paul