NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

got the fever again

tripod tipper

I am new to the SGL. Since recently being retired, I thought I would restart an old obsessing interest, astronomy. 30+ years ago I had an 8" DOB and loved it although it was heavy and bulky and heavy to move in and out of the house. I started looking for a telescope I could handle without too much trouble and good enough for planetary and deep sky observation. I purchased a Celestron PowerSeeker 80EQ because the price was right. It came with a 20mm, 4mm and a 3X barlow. First thing I did was to assemble it with the axis motor and when dark go outside after temp stabilization and see how well it  worked, it was very clear. Then I set the EQ to Polaris, picked a subject (Saturn) and started to track it. The ep's didn't satisfy me, then I purchased several other ep's and filters, it added to the already impressive quality. Last night I tracked Saturn and started with a 25mm EP, after getting the settings right, I went to a 9MM re tweaked the tracking and decline till centered in the ep. I was amazed at the clarity, the planet and rings had great detail even to see the lines on the planet. I don't see any of these refractors in the threads. I was told it's a good starter scope, however I believe it's better than that. does anyone have experience with similar scopes?

You managed to happily track Saturn with an 80mm EQ scope using a 9mm EP?. Back in the day when i tried that, Saturn literally raced across the FOV in a matter of seconds. It was hard to keep up with it. The scope was perfectly polar aligned.

Its doable. Just not much fun.

Paul,