Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

White light/Wedge questions

Ant-33

Hi folks,

Many of you are very experienced and knowledgeable, and I know a lot of you use some pretty impressive gear – I'm pretty new to solar imaging, and I'd highly value some feedback on my early efforts.

I figured I'd get started with a Herschel Wedge. I chose the Lunt 1.25” wedge, and at the same time I got a polarising filter, a uv/ir cut filter and a Baader SC filter. Hopefully this will give me a good start. I began by using it with my Evostar 80ED on an AZ-EQ6 mount. For imaging I used a QHY5l-iic, and captured in .avi format. As it was a try-out I took a couple of short vids and turned to the processing. This one was 200 frames, and I used the best 30% in Registax, mostly with default settings, to give me a 16-bit tiff file, which I then processed in PS. All I did for processing was to make adjustments in levels and curves, treating R, G and B separately. Here's the result:

17_32_40-proc copy

So, I have a lot of questions.

1. Am I on the right track with my approach to this? There is plenty I'd like to improve, but if that detail is real, I'd feel pretty pleased with this as a first effort – but I don't want to be misleading myself.

2. Having imaged using the SC filter, the starting point was, as expected, basically green. What I didn't expect was that when bringing out the details in PS processing, I'd bring out more orange and less green. Is this what you'd expect?

3. The surface detail shows pretty well in the centre of the Sun, but towards the edges it all flattens. Is the detail there in the data, but I've failed to extract it?

4. The two sunspots are okay – but I'd like to have got better detail if possible. Do you think better focus would help this? Better processing?

5. There are three shadows on the image – the most obvious one being the big round shadow just above the two sunspots. Is this a feature of the Sun or is it something in my imaging setup?